Walthamstow Marshes

Last week Becca and I went for a walk on Walthamstow Marshes. She’d been inspired by Gareth E. Rees‘s Marshland, a book I have yet to read, and wanted to see the Marshes for herself. I decided to take my digital sound recorder with me to see what might happen.

What I captured was a lot of birdsong, a lot of aeroplane noises and the sounds that are to be found where the bustle of the East End meets the Lee Valley. Taking these sounds home I realised I has the material for a sound collage of sorts and, being as I am, I couldn’t resist some minimal manipulation to add a more definite ‘musical’ element.

The limited press cd sold out almost instantly, but the music is still available to download at the Spaceship Pictures bandcamp page.

coverupload IMG_5948 IMG_5950 IMG_5954

Leave a Reply

